WestCAST and Live Blogging

I am so excited. Why? In a few short weeks (13 sleeps, not that I’m counting), I’ll be going to WestCAST for my very first time. It’s in Calgary, AB this year, which is one of my favourite cities to visit. I’ve never been, so if anyone has any advice for me, let me know!

Basically, I’m wondering about protocol. Do I have to wear “teacher” attire (I’m assuming yes)? Should I bring “business cards” or something of the sort with my contact info? How much stuff will I likely  bring home from the conference (I’m thinking space for packing)? Should I look at taking a clipboard or a pen/paper ensemble for taking notes? Will I need to take notes (I’m assuming yes on this one too)?

That’s just a start for my questions. If anyone can help me out at all, I would really appreciate it!

****

On the upside, I plan on live blogging and tweeting while I’m there with all the awesome stuff I’m sure to learn. Dean, my prof for ECMP 455, suggested using coveritlive.com. It has a free trial, but I did a little bit of sleuthing and discovered that wordpress has its own live blogging plug-in. I’ll be testing that out over the next couple of days!

If you want to follow me on twitter, I am @sarathibeault.

3 thoughts on “WestCAST and Live Blogging

  1. I don’t know anything about WestCast, although all of your questions make me excited to find out more about it. What devices are you planning to bring with you? I know that at many conferences I’ve attended lately, I tend to use my laptop or iPad for notes (or even a Livescribe Pen) instead of a notebook and a pen. I think it depends on comfort though.

    I’m excited to read more about your adventure!
    Aviva

  2. Sara,

    Keys to success: 1. shameless Twitter self-promotion 2. official hashtag. If there is one way to get more followers on Twitter, it is by getting your name out there – business cards, your name tag with your Twitter handle on it, QR code with Twitter handle, etc. Another thing that is awesome (and can allow you to follow some of the people at the conference) is to use the official conference hashtag whenever you tweet something. A conference like this will definitely have a hashtag; it allows you to stay up-to-date on everything and connect with people who you wouldn’t have met.

    I know what you mean about Calgary being a beautiful city…it is definitely one of my most favourite places to go. I always love going to Calgary to go visit my sister, niece and brother-in-law; the sushi and Chinese food are a bonus, though. If I can recommend places to go, definitely go to Taza – it is an awesome Lebanese restaurant…you are going to want to go with the Lamb Schwarma. Don’t forget the Baklava, either. If you want to check out the hotspot for trendiness, make sure to check out 17th Avenue – if you are there…would you mind checking out a newspaper store? I am looking for a couple papers from the UK…Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

