Goal Setting and Achieving

Yesterday, I received a draft of the year-end report on my teaching from my Vice Principal. Seeing the explicit and objective observations from someone who knows me, as a teacher, well was a good ego boost. More importantly, however, it was incredible to see how far I’ve come since August.

The “how far I’ve come” piece is two-fold. First, I think about how I nervously and meticulously planned every detail the first few days (and then had to completely scrap almost everything), compared to the attention to potential details I have now. I also see how my vision of who I am as a teacher has changed, and is still changing. I haven’t exactly found my perfect teacher persona yet, but I’m way closer than I was 9 months ago. My students must have thought I had some sort of personality disorder for the first few weeks.

The next thing I really noticed was that the goals I set, both on paper, and in my head are being realized. For instance, I set out to get better with using my SmartBoard. Aside from it dying the last few weeks (its fixed now), I’ve done a pretty good job of that. But more importantly, in my head I set out to “stop teaching” so my students could really learn. I’ve hit my stride with the Workplace and Apprenticeship 10 class I’ve got right now. I let them work at their own pace and they are, for the most part, ridiculously engaged.

I have to say, seeing that report and reflecting on the last few months kind of gave me goose bumps. I know I have a long way to go still on the never-ending journey of being a great teacher, but I think I’m at least on the right path.

I also noticed that there are some goals that I still need to step it up for, the main one being incorporating authentic First Nations/Metis content into math. I’ve got my sights set of the probability unit in Math 9, but that’s not enough. Any suggestions or help?

5 thoughts on “Goal Setting and Achieving

  1. So proud of what you’ve accomplished in such a short time. Your willingness to openly reflect on your practice is not only impressive but is something I continue to argue is an essential ingredient to growth for not only professionals but for any learner.

    The willingness and persistence you’ve shown in empowering your students is fabulous. I know how challenging it is and most give up once they witness the chaos and messiness that is inevitable and you make this shift.

    You’re awesome and should be very proud of your work.

    • Thanks, Rick! I really appreciate that! Sorry it took me so long to respond.
      Thanks for giving me a great education and a head-start on my career! I’m so grateful that you taught me how to think critically, thoroughly plan a lesson, and think outside the box.

  2. I absolutely agree with Dean’s comment! I notice that many students start blogging when they’re in the Faculty of Education, but then stop after that. I know that blogging is not the only way to reflect on teaching, but it’s a great way to ensure that this reflection happens. I applaud you for continuing with blogging even after your course was over. You have reflected openly and honestly about what worked and what didn’t, and I can see so much of your learning through this blog.

    The teaching profession is lucky to have you!
    Aviva
    http://www.weinspirefutures.com

Leave a Reply

